Thank you for your feedback



How to Create User Accounts and User Groups with MarkVision Professional

Document ID:HO1389
 
  Properties  

Environment

How to create user accounts and user groups with MarkVision Professional; MarkVision Professional; Microsoft Windows 95; Microsoft Windows 98; Microsoft Windows Me; Microsoft Windows NT 4; Microsoft Windows 2000; Microsoft Windows NT4 server; Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server; Microsoft Windows XP; Microsoft Windows Server 2003; HP-UX 11.0; RedHat Linux 8.x; RedHat Linux 7.1; RedHat Linux 7.2; RedHat Linux 7.3; SuSe 8.x; SuSe 7.1; SuSe 7.2; SuSe 7.3; UNIX Sun Solaris 2.6; UNIX Sun Solaris 2.7; UNIX Sun Solaris 2.8; UNIX Sun Solaris 2.9

Solution

The User Accounts and User Groups task lets you create and manage user accounts and account groups that define access to the devices that MarkVision manages.


Accounts are designed as a security measure. By means of accounts, you can limit user access to specific tasks. You can also place several accounts into account groups. This lets you distribute a range of privileges across a number of accounts.


    1. To access the User Accounts and User Groups task, go to the All Tasks menu on the MarkVision Home screen and select User Accounts and User Groups. When adding accounts or account groups, a wizard appears to guide you through the process.

    2. The MarkVision Setup wizard helps you create some initial accounts. You do not have to add accounts to use MarkVision, but we recommend that you create at least an administrator account to ensure the security of your devices.

Note: Only administrators or designated users can add or delete accounts. As people join or leave your staff, you may need to create or update MarkVision user accounts. If you do not want a specific account to have full administrative rights, you can either specify the appropriate privileges (see Assigning User Privileges below) when the account is created, or assign the account to a group (see Creating an Account Group below) that contains rights to only the tasks you allow.

To create an administrator account:



  1. In the Accounts section of the users table, click Add.
  2. Enter the name and password of the administrator account.
  3. Confirm the password that you entered. When the password confirmation is entered correctly, the indicator light to the right of the field turns green and the OK button is enabled.
  4. Click OK.

Note: Before you create user accounts, you must create an administrator account.

To create a new user account:



  1. In the Accounts section of the users table, click Add.
  2. Enter the account name and password.
  3. Confirm the password that you entered. When the password confirmation is entered correctly, the indicator light to the right of the field turns green and the Next button is enabled.
  4. Click Next.
  5. Select the privileges that will be available to the account from the Available Privileges window.
  6. Click the (>) buttons to add/remove the selected privileges to/from the user account.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Select all the devices that the user account will have access to.
  9. Click Finish.

To create an account group:
By putting user accounts into groups, you can ensure that your user accounts are configured uniformly. If, for example, you wanted a group of users to have access to only certain tasks on certain devices, you could create an account group to:



  • Specify the user accounts to be included in the group
  • Specify the tasks to be available to the group
  • Specify the devices to be available to the group

For example: 


Group

Access rights

Devices

Help desk

Reset printers and print servers; Change printer and print server settings

All devices

Executive secretaries

Monitor toner and paper supplies

Respective department printers only

Department B73

Change printer settings; View status; Discover printers

Department printers only

Note: If you assign task privileges to your users with the User Accounts task and then add the user accounts to a group, your users will have access to tasks granted by both the account and the group. For example, if a user account is given access to the Device Discovery task, and that user account is a member of an account group that does not grant access to the Device Discovery task, that user account will still have access to Device Discovery.
To create a user group:

  1. In the Groups section of the users table, click Add.

  2. Enter the group name.

  3. Select the user accounts that will be assigned to this group.

  4. Click Next.

  5. Select the privileges that will be available to the user group from the Available Privileges window.

  6. Click the (>) buttons to add/remove the selected privileges to/from the user group.

  7. Click Next. Select all the devices that the user group will have access to.

  8. Click Finish.

To edit an existing user account or group:


    1. Double-click the account or group that you want to edit and then click Edit in the corresponding section of the table.

    2. Enter your user account and password.

    3. Adjust the account or group attributes accordingly.

To remove a user account or group:
Caution: Removing groups may affect a user's access rights. You cannot recover a group once it has been removed.


    1. Select the account or group that you want to remove, and then click Remove.

    2. Enter your user account and password into the confirmation prompt, and then click OK.

Assigning user privileges
MarkVision administrators can restrict the access of other MarkVision users to only certain tasks on certain devices. To control user privileges, create accounts and account groups (see User Accounts and User Groups task above). When you set up a group, determine what tasks the group can perform, or assign them individually when creating an account. You can also determine which devices the users can view.
Administrator privileges
If you decide to create accounts in MarkVision, you are required to create an administrator account. This administrator account is authorized to perform all MarkVision tasks on all devices.

Note: If no accounts (administrator or otherwise) are created, all MarkVision users have authorization to perform all tasks.


Designated user privileges
For non-administrator accounts, user privileges and accessible devices are either defined by the parameters specified when the user account was created, or the group assigned to the user. 


Link:
Please enter the email address you would like to send a copy of this page to.